10 responses to “Fitzy For Regina Mayor

    • Thank-you. Yeah I’ve spoken with several people who are fed up with the focus of council, and are willing to change it this time. There are a lot of issues that get no respect, and a younger generation of intelligent people with different backgrounds and education will help rejuvenate this city.

      I’m open to meeting with other people interested in running for Council, so we may co-ordinate where we run so we don’t waste our efforts to bring welcome changes to our high tax/ low housing city.

  1. Hey John, setting our differences aside on the Occupy world, I commend you on taking an active step forward and I would strongly encourage you to explore the option of running for council. I, too, am considering a run for….a position, and one of my major focuses will be to get the younger generation in there, with a fresh outlook on things. I think that’s one of the things that made Mayor Fiacco so popular (and yes, I do realize that some didn’t like all that he was doing), aside from his great ability to get the job done. I would be interested in chatting with you sometime about your views on running. Send me a FB message sometime if you’re willing to talk with me.

    Thanks,
    Chad N. (Yes, “that” Chad N.)

    • Hi Chad,
      I’ll email you. While I’m skeptical of some of your motivations and your behaviour regarding Occupy Regina, I’d be foolish to slap away an olive branch.

  2. if you want to be a council man,… you need to consider Fiaccos 12th Ave. ‘pedway.’ While this is a terrific overhaul to the Victoria Park with many advantages including public safety, the project is now over budget (almost 3X the projected figure),… and the utility of use of the pedway is currently being ‘studied’ at an additional cost of $250,000.

    Fiacco has not harnessed spending since ‘the Big Dig,’ but at some point we have to say,… it’s too much $$$. Modernization and upgrades are necessary, but there must be controls. Therefore, how would you as a councilman harness spending?

    • Robert,
      I don’t see how public safety was enhanced by creating a barren, treeless expanse downtown as if it’s the 1800s again (sans grass), but that’s beside the point.

      I agree completely that modernization (where historical buildings of significance are not concerned) is a priority. Sewer backups, water main breaks, potholes and roads without sidewalks, transit or bike lanes, these are all critical infrastructure problems facing us, and need whatever money it takes to repair them for the next generations to use.

      However, beautification projects like the 12th Ave. bungling, would not have had my approval unless they were to fit into 3 key catches:
      -Economic sustainability.
      -Environmental sustainability.
      -Social sustainability.

      How would I harness spending? I’d vote against bylaws that encourage sprawl. Those laws increase infrastructure costs to Regina for decades to come, and put us into the problem we want to harness. I’d also generate revenue for Regina by supporting smarter waste management, and more appropriate utility pricing. And I wouldn’t hamstring innovation and development. To that aim, I’d support the inclusion of time limits on bylaws, so they do not stay in effect well after the problem they were created to solve has become irrelevant.

      • Also a touch of humour in regard to 12th Ave. my wife posted the following remark to her facebook recently:
        April:
        “The shortest distance between two points is always closed due to some bullshit construction that should’ve been finished a year ago.”

  3. I think this is a great idea Saskboy.

    You should use that photo of you in your campaign. The one of you laughing and pointing your finger at the audience. It’s great!

    Well if you don’t use it, your opponent will.

    cheers

Leave a comment