Honey, I Scalded the Kids

I don’t care for coffee. I don’t make this a secret, even though I probably should, since non-coffee drinkers are often looked at as some sort of aliens who are probably in league with The Man who makes you get up too darn early. Yes, I like the smell, and the flavour (when mixed with lots of sugar, milk, chocolate, etc.), but would no sooner drink it than I’d light up a joint. I don’t think healthy people should use addictive, mind altering substances and claim it’s a matter of great national pride (alcohol pride is bad enough).

Coffee maker

So it’s with a smug sense of detachment from the situation that I can only watch the latest coffee scandal, the Tassimo Scalder 3000 machine recall. Just what a 2 year old was doing making coffee for their parents, is anyone’s guess. (Yes, I know the kid was probably just in the vicinity of the machine {to make coffee for themselves}).

The commission also says the coffee maker’s “T-disc” — the plastic disc that holds the coffee or tea — can burst while brewing and spray hot liquid.

It says a 2-year-old girl in Canada suffered second-degree burns to her face.

It’s with relative glee that I see a packaging intensive product that is intentionally incompatible with the as of yet unrecalled Keurig machines, fail miserably. That it is the drug delivery system of choice for millions of overworked and overtired Canadians, is simply icing on the cake.

Remember to read up on how coffee can kill in amusing ways.

PS – The Keurig plastic cups are not recyclable, they lack a plastic number on the bottom.

3 responses to “Honey, I Scalded the Kids

  1. i only started drinking coffee in earnest about a year ago. now, i love it. i don’t get the idea of having these tassimo or keurig coffee makers at home though. seems like a lot of unnecessary waste

    • The Keurig makers have an option to buy a reusable, refillable cup for the system. The Tassimo doesn’t have that option even, and now they’ve been found to stink in more noticeable ways (scaldings).

      • Real men drink espresso, straight with no milk. Not girly Keurig or Tassimo.

        BTW, the guy who brought Keurig to N America has a net worth of $2 billion now. I’m sure he thanks you.

        cheers

Leave a comment