Pointless Gossip

What good is a blog if you don’t talk about what you’ve done?

LASER QUEST

Last night I attended a bachelor party. First we went to Laser Quest and shot up a bunch of kids in good fun. I finished second for the night, and the groom fifth overall (fourth in the game). Then we headed over to Envy, but didn’t see anyone going inside, so we went to Habanos from my rockstar parking spot between the two clubs. I’d never been to any of the bars on Dewdney Ave. besides McNally’s and Bushwakkers, so I didn’t know what to expect. There was a $5 cover charge, plus $2.25 coat check, and the virgin cesar I had (designated driver) was $2. After “packing the pole” and losing, and spending maybe half an hour at Habanos, someone in the group talked us into going over to Envy. Envy didn’t charge a cover, which I thought was great, until we got downstairs, and there were no patrons. A very attractive bartender was just arriving [or coming back inside] (this was about 11:00) and our group decided to stay for a drink, possibly without coincidence. It turned into two drinks for most, as we ditched the plan to head to the Serbian Club at 11:30 where there was cake and games. Virgin cesars were $3.50 there. The music was alright, but the same as anywhere (Pitbull in every other song), and I recognized Tommy Douglass from the UofR in the bar. Apparently the reason the place was so empty was that finals are being written and many students have left town or are studying.

Gabbos Regina

The groom was getting decidedly more drunk, and rebellious, so instead of meeting up with the women of the wedding party as initially planned, that was tossed aside for a trip to another bar. We hopped over to Gabbos, where there was coat check and cover combined at $5. The virgin cesar was a horrific $4.75, and the bartender was apologetic for the price and offered to put something else in it which I of course declined. I was encouraged (but not sincerely convinced) by another partier to drink until I was buzzed, but not drunk, and I nursed my non-alcoholic drinks along enough the rest of the night that he was easily convinced I’d had enough alcohol to have a good time (even though I need none to have a great time, and had no buzz that wasn’t from dancing and mild dehydration from the Clamato’s sodium).

I picked up some of the women, including my wife of course, from the other party where things had gone sideways at some times in the night, but made our ways back home safely and a great time was had by most. The puke from those who were over-drunk even ended up in washable locations, so it was all good.

And tonight is another party, a Christmas party this time. Fingers crossed it’s as fun as last night, and this time there’s no cover charge, or coat check fees, and the drinks are (next to) free. Party on!

A few nights ago I watched “Friends With Benefits” [7/10] and it was a better movie than I thought it would be.

One response to “Pointless Gossip

Leave a comment