Bike Sharing in Canada

This Summer I had the pleasure of using bike sharing in Ottawa. Had I know how easy it was, I’d have used it in Toronto too, and possibly Montreal while I was there. One thing I’m unclear about is if the Bixi Bikes in different cities are compatible, and billed as if they are one unified fleet or not. I think not, so correct me if I’m mistaken.

Capital Bixi bikes

Capital Bixi bikes

I swiped my credit card at 5:00pm one day in Ottawa, paying $10 to get two bikes for 24 hours, one for me, and one for April. April decided that the style of bike was uncomfortable for her, so she didn’t use her bike access the following day before 5:00pm rolled around again.

When we were both using the bikes, we picked them up near our hotel downtown, and rode across the river into Gatineau, Quebec. April became one of the few people on Earth who can say she cycled into Quebec her first time being there.

As the President of the Regina Car Share Co-operative, I’ve been interested in vehicle sharing models for a few years. I’d love to be able to one day offer some of the technology in Bixi to car sharers in Regina, but for now that sort of electronic gadgetry is out of our price range. I hope it becomes more common to see electronic bike sharing in other Canadian cities soon.

Leave a comment