I Hate Tipping

Tipping is terrible. It’s too complicated, and it’s an excuse for employers to underpay people who work in service jobs like waiting and housekeeping. Employers have learned that people are less likely to use a service if the true cost is honest and up-front. This is also why GST/HST is added after the price tag instead of being included on the sticker – it slows down impulse buying. And as I’m rambling it’s also the theory behind car sharing, which rolls the cost of using a vehicle into one simple bill.

When you go to Mexico, what’s an appropriate tip for someone cleaning your room? There’s no base charge to hauling bags at a hotel either, so what’s a fair tip if there’s no percentage solution?

Gratuities can get lost.

13 responses to “I Hate Tipping

  1. Nice reading guys.
    “it’s an excuse for employers to underpay people who work in service jobs like waiting and housekeeping.”

    In other words, employers use the possibility of customers taking pity on underpaid servers and cooks, to cheat their employees of fair payment because people like me and you who eat out would do it less if the tip were included in paycheques. It’s a silly, irregularly applied tradition that needs to end.

    Who here tips McDonald’s staff?

  2. servers who work for $2.50 an hour chose that job in the first place, assuming that all customers agree they deserve at least 15%. But a lot of you simply DON’T. Some of you react to questions you find dumb in a pompous arrogant attitude and forget to mention certain things cost extra in order to boost your tip. Another thing, you all think your job is that difficult, I worked in the kitchen with no tips and never bitched about having to recook dishes on a searing hot grill or constantly washing dishes all day. Oh you had a customer yell at you for their medium steak that should have been medium rare, I’m doing the physical labor. Japan gives great service with pride and you don’t even have to tip these poor workers but I would if it was acceptable as a custom because they absolutely deserve it. Some of you say 15%-20%, here is a thought, how about we tip you as much as we feel like instead of you telling us to do something that is for the most part OPTIONAL. Some of you will say “if you don’t like to tip don’t eat out!” Who are you to tell anybody anything about where they should eat? I’m going to eat out regardless of how i feel about tipping. Some servers have rewrote signed gratuity to increase their tip. So what if servers call me cheap, that means I’m saving my money for more worthwhile things. I think tipping should end so customers can act like douchebags and servers do their job in the shitty way they are doing it now.

  3. It’s worse in BC where Clark just changed the minimum wage rules so that people who depend on tips can be paid less than regular minimum wage. What a crock.

    I agree with you. Ditch the custom entirely and make employers pay a living wage.

  4. Thought id say hello from Lebanon,Pa Amish community. Richard from Amish Stories.

    [~Saskboy replies: Hi Richard. If you don’t comment on the blog post, your introduction comes across as spam.]

  5. I hate the idea of tipping. When I worked for a minimum wage in a clothes store and had to run back and forth to check stock for customers, and personally assist them with outfits for their brothers’ great aunties’ sisters long lost cousins birthday event sometimes spending as long as an hour dealing with their indecisiveness and reducing my daily sales conversion rate from spending so much time catering to them and providing them with impeccable service – I didn’t get no damn tips. Because that was my job! AND I was on incredibly shitty pay and didn’t get no tips to make up for it.

Leave a comment