Comfort From the Enemy ; Blog Archives Offline Still

Ray Comfort, plagiarist and creationist evangelist, is currently (9:30AM) distributing a modified version of The Origin of the Species at the University of Regina campus (and many other North American colleges and universities). I spoke with a man who handed me a copy, and a copy to a professor on his way to a class. We both asked the man which organization was distributing the book, and he evaded the question, telling us to “read the first 50 pages”, and we’d figure it out. (The men at the UofR all looked a lot like the guy in the photo, maybe they’re clones.)

I did even better than that, I flipped through the first 50, and on my way back to the library I heard a student telling his friend that the book is a fake — missing portions of The Origin of the Species. I returned with my camera, and further questioned the 4 men (minus the original) as to their intentions. Security had since asked them to stop distributing the books, but they were letting students grab them unassisted. They told me that there were 1000 copies to distribute, and over 120,000 everywhere in North America being given out. The price on the back of the book is $4.99 (no indication of US or C$). Bridge Logos Foundation is the publisher.

Would you trust a book from a plagiarist author like Comfort? Comfort’s book would get him kicked out of university if he turned it in as an assignment. There’s no easy way to tell if the book I have in my hands is the “2nd printing” which supposedly is complete. If I have the first printing, I know it would not be complete. If you’re going to read The Origin, get it for free at the library instead and recycle Comfort’s junk.

7 responses to “Comfort From the Enemy ; Blog Archives Offline Still

  1. Can you summarize those links for me? I need to manage my time and might get distracted looking for the relevant info…

  2. I know you’re teasing, but I’ll give a summary:
    Comfort: Liar and fan of Intelligent Design distributes partly plagiarized introduction, and at first incomplete “Origins” on campuses he’d be kicked off of if he turned his book in as an assignment.

  3. Wow! It wasn’t actually THE Ray Comfort distributing the books was it?!? I can’t believe I missed that. Do you think they’ll be on campus on Monday? I _have_ to get one of those books.

  4. I’ve got 2, but there’s probably several in recycle bins on campus, I’ll see if I can find extras on Monday ;-) I don’t know if they’ll be back.
    You can certainly borrow my copy, it’s only slightly defaced.
    And no, I don’t think Ray Comfort was present, but I don’t know what he looks like. The distributors were all old white guys though.

  5. Oh yeah, that guy with the banana. It killed me the first time I saw that. “It’s perfectly formed for our mouth” LOL

    When all you have is a banana, everything looks like a monkey.

  6. Folks: Just FYI, the National Center for Science Education was heavily involved in the organized response to Comfort, from an online debate (on US News and World Report’s web site) to aiding activists at various colleges in the U.S. and Canada. Our web site dedicated to the campaign–www.dontdissdarwin.com–has alot of resources, from a detailed debunking of the Comfort intro, to some whimsical tools (including the NCSE Safety Bookmark and an “instructional” video). Check it out.

    Robert Luhn
    Director of Communications
    National Center for Science Education, Inc.
    420 40th Street, Suite 2
    Oakland, CA 94609-2509
    510-601-7203 x314
    fax: 510-601-7204
    800-290-6006
    luhn@ncse.com
    http://www.ncse.com

    p.s. If you’d like to receive our weekly email newsletter, just let me know and I can add you to our list.(Don’t worry–this isn’t spam. It’s our weekly tracking of the ongoing evolution vs. creationist debate, from new state laws to local flare-ups of anti-evolution activity.)

Leave a comment