What A Week

A week ago my Dad passed away from complications due to his cancer treatments. I last saw him in person 3 weeks ago on Labour Day Sunday, and he seemed to be doing about as well as anyone who has been through months of chemotherapy. Earlier in the week my Godmother, Betty Klein, also passed away from cancer. Prior to that, my friend Dawn lost her husband to cancer too.

Then I had to move some furniture around in my condo. All this after a thousand kilometers of driving in the past few days. A couple muted birthday celebrations in the middle of that too. I did enjoy seeing my extended family, although many noted we all wished it was under happier circumstances. We’re getting to the older side of life where more often we all meet during a funeral than a wedding or holiday.

Leave a Reply

