Lafleche Centennial, 100 Years of Awesome

June 29, 2013
Lafleche sunset panorama
I’ve been at the Lafleche 100 celebration on Canada Day long weekend. There were few people my age who I knew, and many of the oldest generation who I grew up with has passed away in the past decades. Cliff Day, who I remember from even the 1980s, passed away in May of this year. Homecomings can be like that, reminded of how everything has changed from my perspective. It’s still been worth going, and I’m headed back on Sunday morning.

Lafleche hockey rink centennial panorama

I arrived with Dad, as the 11am parade was winding down. On the side street, where some WWII veterans in golf carts had finished driving through the parade, I heard one exclaim to the other, “We made it.”

Lafleche Centennial

The lady at the registration desk recognized Saskboy when I put it on my name-tag. She didn’t remember what she’d read, but recalled it upset her.

I’m off to bed now, and I’ll pick this blog up tomorrow.

June 30
Got roped into going to church with my parents, before the pancake breakfast. The breakfast was good, it was self-serve, so I got enough to eat. Then I helped a Radio-Canada journalist get some photos and interviews he needed.

Lafleche Centennial

Lafleche Centennial

Lafleche Centennial

Leave a Reply

