Big Bad John – Jimmy Dean Dead at 81

This song has always had a special place in my heart, not only for its similarly named hero, but I remember my Grandpa playing it on the cabinet record player in his home’s basement when I was very little. He’d sing along to it too; I got a huge kick out of it.


At the bottom of this mine lies a helluva man!

I always got Jimmy Dean and James Dean mixed up for some reason.

I first learned of Jimmy’s death on Twitter. I saw him trending so I immediately tweeted:
Jimmy Dean is trending on Twitter. That must mean he’s just released a new album with Justin Bieber, or he just died.
Sadly, it was the latter, although the former would have been kind of sad too.

5 responses to “Big Bad John – Jimmy Dean Dead at 81

  1. Think this is the same Jimmy Dean whose 1st big hit was “Honeycomb” in the 50’s. Sad. All the old ones are dying at the same time it seems.

  2. I heard this song for the first time a few weeks ago when I was up at the Lake. It was on randy bachman’s vinyl tap (on cbc radio). Randy talked about Jimmy Dean and I was surprised to learn it was the same Jimmy Dean thats famous for sausage.

  3. When i was 10 I remember this song being played on the radio … LOTS … everybody loved it. If it didn’t go to #1, I’d be surprised. Great song and a great story.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

