Doing What’s Right Doesn’t Always Look Cool

“Finish your food; there are children starving in… Regina.”

Some freegan, some purchased.

When I first started recovering items from dumpsters, I was of course keenly aware of the social stigma implications. I consoled myself against the probable eventual ridicule by having a personal code, of things I would not salvage. I certainly wouldn’t salvage food, ick. In Regina’s dumpsters, not far from my home, I learned people were discarding money, and cans of food (not opened, not damaged or expired). I couldn’t bear not to save this food and use it, for the simple fact that it was an unexplained waste. I later learned that people around North America in particular see this sort of waste first hand when they go dumpster diving. Some people (not me) use it as their primary source of food, and eat very well.
Canadians waste over $26,000,000,000 worth of food a year. Who is being disgusting?

Not the Freegans.

People shouldn’t get arrested for stopping waste.
Had a Suit
– My name is John, and I am a part-time Freegan.

4 responses to “Doing What’s Right Doesn’t Always Look Cool

  1. This has been covered on Radio One a couple of times already. Ontario Today has had at least one or two phone-ins re: this kind of waste-stopping over the years since I started listening.

  2. I tip my hat to you.
    Some years back KadyO’Malley blogged her culinary experience at a freegan feast – at least I’m pretty sure it was Kady.
    The stigma attached to dumpster diving comes entirely from the stuff coming out of a dumpster. If goods of all kinds – food, fixable broken things, perfectly good stuff someone just didn’t want any more – if those items were put out on a table instead, the stigma would disappear. It would be just like a garage sale where no money exchanged hands. Perishables not retrieved after a day could be moved to a block composter.

  3. Thanks for the comments everyone. My dumpster diving hobby is its own reward. I’ve enriched my life, my possessions, my city, and can speak with certainty about the destruction and waste wrought by a Walmart lifestyle. In the past few years I’ve diverted TONS of usable materials away from an immediate trip to the landfill. The weight estimation is not an exaggeration, and I only do this part time; an hour a month perhaps.

Leave a Reply

